‘Pitch Perfect’

I think it’s no secret that going to the cinema is one of my favourite things to do in the world, and I’m lucky enough to live near at least one fantastic alternative cinema  whether I’m at home or at university. However, today we were at the normal cinema (which, when you’ve been spoiled with beautiful venues for a long time is a bit of a culture shock) in order to see one of  several films on our Christmas list: Pitch Perfect.

I know the trailers don’t count as part of the film – I mean, obviously – but to me they are part of the visual experience and something I love about the cinema. Ignoring the two trailers for a genre of film that doesn’t appeal to me (ie. the formulaic Hollywood rom-com) there were still two that are worth mentioning: Les Misérables and Warm Bodies. I don’t know a lot about Les Mis because my knowledge of musicals is negligible (despite my friend’s best efforts and, frankly, logical connections to my character), but I am ridiculously excited for that film. If a trailer can still give me shivers after I’ve seen it at least five times, it’s something special. However, what I took away most from the trailer marathon at the beginning of the film was the impact of Warm Bodies. I have been terrified of zombies since I was a little kid and although I’d  heard of the film I’d steered clear of reading any news about it for fear of affecting my delicate sensibilities. Warm Bodies looks like something different, though, and I was enthralled. I’ll be reading the book and watching the film I’m sure.

But for the main feature, Pitch Perfect. I don’t know what I expected but what I got was so much better than anything I could have imagined. When a film brings the jokes right from the intro – I don’t want to reveal the set-up because I loved the surprise so much – you know it’s going to be good. This is what Pitch Perfect did. It combined brilliant music (I, for one, don’t hear Blackstreet’s ‘No Diggity’ enough in my daily life), hilariously filthy jokes and great acting and made an excellent comedy film package. It also reminded me of several things I should remember: that acapella music is great, that I should really join more societies at uni, and that singing in general is really cool. While the general concept isn’t anything particularly new it was interpreted in a new way and didn’t feel tired at all – in fact, quite the reverse. Pitch Perfect is fresh, funny, and worth seeing. Especially if, like me, you love a good musical mash-up.

It’s a film that will be going on my wish list – and purchased list come its DVD release date – and I strongly recommend braving the stressful experience of going into town post-Christmas to see it.

 
Anything to add?

