A week in film – week 38

I’m beginning this week in film post with a confession, of sorts. I intended this blog series to be an accurate representation of my viewing habits over the course of the week – however that makes me look. I’m not often embarrassed about what I watch, but writing it all down does tend to hammer home some of the more repetitive aspects of my viewing personality. It’s on that note that I mention that I watched Captain America: The Winter Soldier again, about two weeks after I last saw it. I’d be ashamed, but I don’t really care. My family wanted to watch it, and it’s completely brilliant. I didn’t want to miss a second.

It also made an excellent refresher viewed in time for the DVD release of Avengers: Age of Ultron, which came out on Monday. I was so eager to watch the film again that I tried to watch it after a very long and very stressful day at work, and majestically failed to get through it all (it’s long, guys). I barely made it halfway through, and remained sad about it all week. A second attempt on Friday night was much more successful, and much more enjoyable: when you’re not watching through a haze of tired, everything seems so much better. I’m not sure I’m quite as up on it as I was the first time I saw it – I may or may not have said I preferred it to the first one, which I think, on consideration, was a mistake – but I still find it enormously entertaining. My love of Scarlet Witch and The Vision endures. As does my love of Steve Rogers. And my enthusiasm for Captain America: Civil War. I may have watched it one and a half times this week, but neither of those felt like time wasted.

Actually, this week’s major time-waste was Doctor Who, which returned to BBC One this Saturday night. I’ve been a fan of Doctor Who since it came back in 2005, but I’ve been noticing it going downhill for a while and I actively detested most of the last series. Still, not quite willing to let a significant part of my childhood go just yet, I decided to give it another shot in the hope that it might have improved. It hasn’t. In fact, if anything, it’s worse. I don’t think the episode made any sense, and even if it had I don’t think I would have been particularly keen on what it was trying to do. It seems odd to say this as a Marvel fan, but I am TIRED of characters not really being dead. It’s annoying when they’re coming back from the dead about five years later and it’s annoying when they’re coming back a single episode later – both of which, not naming character names, happened in ‘The Magician’s Apprentice’. It smacks of having no new ideas. I was pretty much waiting for it to end (and it’s a two-parter, so there’s more of that story to come) throughout. Then again, I wasn’t even remotely surprised by it. I’m not angry about it. I definitely saw my disappointment coming. So, I think it’s finally the end of an era. I’m not going to go out of my way to watch it any more. It’s too sad.

Fortunately, I found a way of getting past it. I’ve ploughed through almost an entire series of Brooklyn Nine Nine this week, and I’d saved the last episode of series 2 – a FANTASTIC episode – to watch after Doctor Who. I’m so glad I did. I’ve really enjoyed going back over Brooklyn Nine Nine because it has the power of being consistently funny, even if I’ve seen it before. I think I might prefer series 1 – in part because I’ve seen it a ridiculous amount of times, and it’s almost become a sort of comforting routine – but I still love series 2, and I can’t wait to watch more of it going forward. I love all of those characters, I really do. It’s the same magic that makes Parks and Rec so great, and anything that can capture that is worth savouring. Says the girl who blitzed through a series in a week. I’ve also finished the rest of The Unbreakable Kimmy Schmidt, which I was enjoying so much by the end I’d pretty much exhausted the supply by Sunday evening. Netflix had to check I was alive several times.

Also, obviously Bake Off. It’s getting so close to the end now. If it’s anything other than a Nadiya/Tamal/Flora final I’ll riot. Or at least be quite disappointed and subdued.

Anything to add?

