A week in film – 2016, week 42

Aside from taking pleasure in the fact that this blog post is the 42nd ‘week in film’ post of the year (the implicit The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy reference is really appealing to me), there isn’t that much to celebrate this week. Generally, the world is going to hell in a handbasket; more specifically in my TV bubble, a fave has left Bake OffI’m heading to the most exciting film event of my week tonight (therefore outside of this ‘week in film’ post remit), and the only new thing I have watched this week wasn’t totally exciting. But then, there’s Crazy Ex-Girlfriend. So it’s not all bad.

Yeah, I’m still watching Crazy Ex-Girlfriend, after actually um-ing and ah-ing about whether I was going to (despite what I said last week, a few days away from it didn’t convince me to rush back). Still, I dipped back in and I am kind of glad I did – however intense I find Rebecca, there is absolutely no denying that Rachel Bloom’s performance is incredible. She has to switch between moods and genres quickly and often, and does so effortlessly. It’s no wonder she got a Golden Globe for it. Otherwise, it continues to be as bonkers and as entertaining as it was initially, and I’m making headway slowly but surely (I think I’m on episode six by now). The supporting characters are wonderful – her neighbour, introduced as an abnormal psychology student, is exactly the kind of observational character that works for the show. I’m definitely going to keep watching it now, instead of just thinking that I was going to keep watching it as I was before, and I’m so ready to see the full extent of why it deserves the critical acclaim it received.

The Great British Bake Off and Tudor Week, still the oddest of the themed weeks, was pretty much a winner as everyone seemed confounded by the situations with which they were confronted. I personally have no idea why anyone would want to eat marchpane (a more brittle, unpleasant-looking version of modern marzipan), let alone actually bake it. Still, despite the general sense of confusion – apart from during the pie signature challenge, which seems like a challenge which happens fairly often on Bake Off – the episode was enjoyable, as everyone fought for a way into the semi-final. The semi-final. That means there’s two episodes of this series left (a fairly devastating thought, and a sure sign of winter). There’s never as much camaraderie at this point in the series, but it is still the most well-meaning show on television and it is always genuinely sad when someone leaves (of this week’s unsuccessful contestant, another gave a talking head interview stating how significant their friendship now is, which was properly and surprisingly moving). Two more weeks, and then Channel 4 gets it. We need to cherish this Beeb version while we still can.

Finally, TRON: Legacy. I can’t deny that it’s one of the most visually arresting films I’ll ever see – all blue and black and neon, with beautifully composed shots and genuinely interesting sequences (the individual sections of the Games are stunning). The Daft Punk score, unsurprisingly, is one of the best movie soundtracks I have ever heard. But as for the actual content, I’m pretty convinced that TRON: Legacy doesn’t really work. The storytelling isn’t particularly clear, despite being fairly straightforward, and the character development is bordering on non-existent. I established the basic premise, sure, but I think that’s more because I was getting context from my boyfriend, a big fan of this film, as I was watching it. It’s probably worth a second viewing – not least ’cause I’d get to see that score in context again – but I’m not sure I’ll feel the need to conduct an in-depth analysis of that script any time soon.

Then there’s the Rogue One trailer. Because oh my God, does that film look stunning. And cool. All praise Felicity Jones.

Anything to add?

