A week in film – 2017, week 8

OK, so my plan went a little bit awry. This week wasn’t really a train travel week, and it was a week of big change (like, adult decisions, you guys), so I haven’t really watched any films. In fact I haven’t watched any films – a fact which surprised me when I came to write this. Not even a Marvel film. I know. I’ve changed.

I have, however, continued to dip in and out of Last Week Tonight and The Daily Show, although my excessive consumption of the latter last week has exhausted NowTV’s supply. I still think Last Week Tonight is one of the best things currently airing on TV, and that John Oliver is one of the best presenters that there is. Yeah, I am partly at fault for not always digesting all of my news through actual news outlets (there’s so much horror right now; it’s hard to take it all in), but there’s something to be said for Last Week Tonight‘s ability to fully focus upon one issue and to pretty thoroughly disect it. I like the show, and I look forward to watching it every week. The Daily Show, potentially, has been ruined by my binge, because it’s felt a little flat since. It’s seemed slightly more awkward in recent episodes. Still. It’s not like there’s a shortage of news to satirise, is there?

In other news, I’ve started watching Riverdale, the CW/Netflix show based on America’s beloved Archie comics. I have zero knowledge of Archie, apart from recognising the names of the characters (not least ’cause of the Betty/Veronica riff in Avengers: Age of Ultron). This Riverdale is a high school-set murder mystery – a high school jock disappears, and then his body is found, sending waves of devastation through the small town. Then there’s a bit of love triangle drama, and some stupid narration (I’m two episodes in and I’m not completely sold on Jughead’s role in proceedings yet). It’s like a grim version of One Tree Hill, and while I’m not 100% sure I’m sold on it yet, I’m still watching. I am beginning to care where this plot goes.

Other than that, I’ve watched absolutely nothing – so this post is going to be short and sweet. Like I said – grown-up stuff has been getting in the way. But I do have big cinema plans going forward, and I really will actually watch something next week, I promise.

Anything to add?

